How you know.

You won’t see it coming, but this person will knock the wind out of you and make you feel like you walked into a glass door you thought wasn’t there (maybe I’m the only person that’s ever happened to multiple times). Regardless, they’ll make you feel breathless. As if they bundled up all the air you thought you had in your lungs and took it away, but in a good way. I think that’s when you know you’ve met someone, but not just anyone.

I feel like I’ve been there, done that. There’s no saying when you know that you’re completely done with dating or maybe that you’ve barely even begun. This person, he feels different to me. It feels perfectly warm, comfortable, and compassionate. There may be no words at the time, but it is a welcome surprise. So if you aren’t wondering, I am: how did I meet my person?

At the time I was involved with another person, someone we both knew. I met you and it took me a whole year for me to realize he wasn’t going to change. You were patient for an entire year of gray, and then blue. You were patient, subtle, and comforting when I needed you to be. I tried to impress you by being good with the computer, with everything. I tried to impress you, but you already looked blown away. You were the reason I looked forward to Sundays, until Sundays became something else. I missed you, until I realized I shouldn’t.

And then one day, I was no longer tied down and there was a message waiting for me on my phone: “Are you working this Saturday?”

The rest becomes history as I let myself connect to you in a way I know we were meant for, and the space between our souls became less and less; now, I can’t bear to be away from you for longer than a few days. I found you in a way I wasn’t expecting. And I think that’s how I know.

 

Author: kristeninlove

navigating falling in love, and staying in love.

Leave a Reply

