Permanence. 

I’ve taken a break from writing on this blog and I had started a beauty blog, but have realized it’s crazy expensive and time consuming to keep with something relative to a lifestyle, so I’m back! 

Lately I have realized that permanence is a reality I’ve perhaps been ignorant of in the past. While I hope and believe that my boyfriend and I actually have a long lasting, lifetime type of relationship, I’ve noticed that even if we don’t have that, we’ll have these memories and moments forever. In this year and a half I’ve loved him, and that will never be taken away if one of us finds someone else. So in a way, it is forever no matter what. I’ve realized how great that is, but also how scary it can be. 

Nobody wants to spend a lifetime comparing their loved ones to previous loved ones (and the loved one doesn’t want to hear about that either), so the first time a person decides to love someone can be really scary. It can be hard to move forward because of the fear that this might be the best you ever have. Moments of doubt or self-consciousness can turn into relationship doubt, which can turn into a break-up, but then you realize, “wait that was person”. 

I’m glad we haven’t had those negative experiences in our time together and I hope we don’t, but I’m sort of writing this not because I’ve had doubts of you or us, but because I’ve had doubts in myself lately. That I’m not good enough to have a good person, or that you’ll get bored of me, or that I’m annoying (honestly the list goes on but I’ll cut it off there). To remind myself that you are my person, and those doubts do not matter. We have our happy moments, that will truly last our lifetime. 

Author: kristeninlove

navigating falling in love, and staying in love.

Leave a Reply

